The project is what you have identified and created in the Project module. The board is your visual plan to accomplish your project and the lists and stories represent a workflow. The Nutcache’s collaborative boards allow you to organize and manage your project with your team members by adding lists, stories, worked hours, expenses, comments, as well as invoice the entire board at once or one list at the time. 


Creating an Agile-type board is very straightforward in Nutcache. To visualize various samples of Nutcache boards, or to get inspiration for your own boards, please click here.


Creating an Agile board

Collaborative boards can be created either from the project screen:


m9LIRXkeACmr5jthjyed5U2o7eRGwaGD1Q.jpg



...or from the Agile boards option from under the Projects module:



In order to speed up the creation of a board, Nutcache offers 12 templates to choose from. Those templates reflect the workflow of various types of business, such as communication/graphics agencies, architects, software development, sales department, HR companies, etc. All templates can be adapted to your own business workflow.


After naming your board and choosing a template, you need complete the following fields:


  1. Board start and end dates.  Set the expected start and end dates of your board.
  2. Project.  Connect your board to an existing project from the drop down menu. This field is required.
  3. Description.  Give some details about your board in relation with the project you wish to complete.
  4. Definition of done. Define your definition of done, which will be used to assess if the work is complete and the board can be closed.
  5. Display story numbers. Select this option if you wish stories to display numbers.
  6. Make this board public: A public board is accessible to anyone knowing its public URL. Select this option if you wish to share the board with others.
  7. Assign project members to the board automatically. Select "Yes" if you wish to add to the board all members previously assigned to the project.
  8. Add active project items as stories to the board automatically. Select "Yes" if you wish to add to the board all project items as stories. 
  9. Click save.



Adding lists and stories to the board

Once your board is created, you need to add lists and stories to reflect your workflow. Think of a list as a container where you gather all your tasks, ideas, etc. The list can stand for one process in the general workflow. When you create a list you are asked to name it:



For example, a board can be split into 3 lists: To do, Doing, and Done.



The list header colors can be changed to your liking:




Lists offer more features accessible by clicking the three dots that will appear each time you hover your mouse over the header of a particular list:



  • You can duplicate a list
  • You can move a list to another board
  • You can move stories within the board or to another board
  • You can delete a list from a board
  • You can archive a list
  • You can invoice an entire list (billing only "Done" lists is equivalent to progressive invoicing)
  • You can set the visibility of lists to private or public
  • You can subscribe to a list and get notified each time a modification is made to the list
  • You can add color to your list to easily distinguish it from the rest



Now, the next step is to add stories to your lists:



Think about stories as huge post-it notes on your wall, these post-it notes are things to do (tasks) to complete the project. Create them in the "To do" list and move them along as the work progresses.




In Nutcache, stories are super powerful as each story contains a tab menu where you can:


  • Assign members
  • Set a story's planned start&end date/, start/done date, estimated vs actual time, etc.
  • Estimate a story's ROI by comparing its complexity against its business value
  • Break-down a story into several tasks
  • Link work hours
  • Link expenses
  • Attach and store documents
  • Comment the ongoing work
  • Browse the story activity log



Adding members to a board

Adding members to the board will allow you to track the progress of the work carried out by each member. To learn how to add members to a board, a story or a task, click here.



Monitor the work progress
The story's first tab lets you enter a description of the work to be carried out but most importantly allows you to record information to better track the progress of the work to be performed. Use this tab to record the story planned start date, the actual start date, the due date and the card done date, the estimated time and the actual time (worked hours).

It is also possible to set a level of complexity to a story. The complexity scale is based on the Fibonacci sequence, a well-known reference tool part of the Scrum methodology. Setting a complexity level to a story offers an alternative way of estimating the workload to be performed (other that the estimated time). Moreover, dividing the business value of a story by its complexity level gives you the ROI of a story, which is a valuable information when it comes to prioritize the work that needs to be performed.

It is also possible to link a story to an existing project item (a project task) in order to track time on the latter. When a time entry is linked to a story (which is itself linked to the project item), it becomes impossible to modify the related project item unless you unlink or delete the time entry.

All the data collected on this tab helps to closely monitor the progress of the project through the project dashboard.


Managing work hours through a story

To record the time spent working on a task, simply start a timer directly from a story by choosing one of the following options:


From a closed story:



Or from a opened story:



Once the task is complete, stop the timer. A pop-up screen will prompt you to record the worked hours.





Exploring the board menu
The board menu allows the following actions:




Edit. Make modifications to the boards settings.
Duplicate. If you need to manage several projects with the same workflow, use this action to make a copy of an existing board.
Delete. Use this option to delete an entire board with all the lists and stories it contains.
Close. When all the stories from the board are complete, you can close the board to make your board list less cluttered. Once closed, a board remains visible and accessible, but no changes can be made to it.
Move stories. Move stories and lists within the board or to another board.
Restored archived lists. Use this action to restore archived lists to the board.
Invoice board. Bill the entire board at once when all the work is complete.
Board statistics. The Board statistics option sums up your board’s critical information so you can see at a glance where your project is heading and, if required, make the necessary changes.



Manage members. Use this menu option to invite and manage team members who will be working on the board.